WildFly and JBoss AS are the Community Version of JBoss application server offerings. The term "JBoss application server" has been used since the beginning, however to avoid confusion with the supported version, called JBoss Enterprise Application platform (JBoss EAP in short) it has been renamed to WildFly.

The community version of WildFly is available at: www.wildfly.org

On the other hand, the archived version of JBoss AS are available here: http://jbossas.jboss.org/downloads

If you are planning to use the Community version of the application server, you are strongly enouraged to migrate to the latest version of WildFly, as you will hardly find users in the Community that can support older JBoss AS 5,6 or 7 releases.

In the following table you can see the Java EE Compatibility Matrix for each version of the Community application server:

Application Server Version Java EE Version
JBoss AS 7 6
WildFly 8 7
WildFly 9 7
WildFly 10 7
WildFly 11 7
WildFly 12 7 + preview of 8
WildFly 13 7 + preview of 8
WildFly 14 8


JBoss Enterprise Application platform is Red Hat's supported application server. JBoss EAP is still an opensource project but if you want to use JBoss EAP in production with Red Hat's support, then you need to activate a subscription. You can download JBoss EAP from the following link: https://developers.redhat.com/products/eap/download/

The following Java EE versions are supported in the latest versions of the application server:

Application Server Version Java EE Version
JBoss EAP 5 5
JBoss EAP 6 6
JBoss EAP 7 7


Mapping the Community versions with JBoss EAP versions

It is not possible to map exactly a version of the Community version (JBoss EAP, WildFly) with the corresponding version of the supported version (JBoss EAP) as they are maintained in separated branches. In general terms, the following tables summarizes the version of WildFly used as baseline for a JBoss EAP version:

JBoss EAP Version WildFly Version
JBoss EAP 7.2 WildFly 14.0.1
JBoss EAP 7.1 WildFly 11
JBoss EAP 7.0 WildFly 10
JBoss EAP 6.4 JBoss AS 7.5
JBoss EAP 6.3 JBoss AS 7.4
JBoss EAP 6.2 JBoss AS 7.3
JBoss EAP 6.1 JBoss AS 7.2
JBoss EAP 6.0 JBoss AS 7.1